Fields of study Minimum requirements
(National Senior Certificate)

1. National Diploma: Food Technology
2. National Diploma: Forestry
3. National Diploma: Marine Science
Mathematics and Physical Science 4 (50-59)

4. B.Sc. Bioresource Engineering
(Agricultural Engineering)
5. Bachelor of Veterinary Science (B.V.Sc.)
Mathematics and Physical Science 6 (70–79)

6. B.Sc. Viticulture and Oenology
7. B.Sc. Plant Pathology
8. B.Sc. Food Science
9. B.Sc. Entomology
10. B.Sc. Forestry and Wood Science
11. B.Sc. Marine Biology
12. B.Sc. Oceanography and Marine Biology
13. B.Sc. Ichthyology specializing in Aquaculture
Mathematics and Physical Science 5 (60–69)

14. Postgraduate studies (B.Tech, B.Sc., Hons. M.Tech., M.Sc., D.Tech. and Ph.D.) in different agricultural, forestry and fisheries field of study
relating to DAFF priority research projects. Successful candidates will be appointed as interns and placed with the relevant industry/
research institution/institution of higher learning as young professionals. Successful candidates will also be allocated a mentor and will
receive a monthly allowance from the department.

1. It is worth noting that certain fields of study are only available at certain institutions of higher learning:
• B.Sc. Bioresource Engineering (Agricultural Engineering): University of KwaZulu-Natal
• Bachelor of Veterinary Science (B.V.Sc.): University of Pretoria
• B.Sc. Viticulture and Oenology/Plant Pathology: University of Stellenbosch
• B.Sc. Forestry and Wood Science: University of Stellenbosch
• B.Sc. Oceanography and Marine Biology: University of Cape Town
• B.Sc. Ichthyology specialising in Aquaculture: Rhodes University
• National Diploma: Forestry: Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
• National Diploma: Marine science: Cape Peninsula University of Technology
2. Applicants must be South African citizens.
3. Applicants must complete the relevant bursary application forms available from the website address:
(Click the following: Food Security and Agrarian Reform Branch then Sector Education and Training and then Careers).
4. Applicants who apply for fields of study that are not listed above will not be considered.
5. Please note that communication will be limited to successful applicants only. If you have not received any communication
from the department by15 January 2019, after the National Bursary Committee has finalised the selection process, consider
your application unsuccessful.
6. All completed bursary application forms together with certified copies of ID and certificates/performance results should be
sent to the following address:
The Director For further enquiries please contact:
Directorate: Sector Education and Training
Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisherie
Private Bag X250 Mr. Vusimuzi Mngomezulu : 012 319 7923
Pretoria Ms. Boitumelo Maleka : 012 319 7024
0001 Ms. Silindelo Dlomo : 012 319 7848

NB. (i) The Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries reserves the right to determine the total number of bursary allocations
for the academic year based on the total budget available.
(ii) The National Bursary Committee will make use of the Bursary Scheme’s 14-point system to allocate points to shortlisted
(iii) The Bursary Scheme of the Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries is in fulfilment of the sector strategic objective of
elimination of skewed participation in the agricultural, forestry and fisheries sectors.

People with disabilities are encouraged to apply.

Closing date for all applications: 30 September 2018

Original bursary 


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!